Investigating Vimeo

Posted on February 6, 2012

0


When my lecturer mentioned customised Vimeo pages I was quite intrigued by what he meant. I like Vimeo, I find it to be so much more professional than Youtube, but it is relatively boring on the channel front. You don’t have much freedom or choice.

Image

You can do the basics, change your name and bio stuff like that, but Youtube could do that a long time ago. The most you can do is this;

Image

This allows you to select the video you want to play when a vistor comes to your channel, but again Youtube could do this ages ago. Of course, there’s no such thing as a free lunch, if you want the good stuff, with Vimeo, you have to pay for it.

Image

Vimeo PRO gives the user total control of their profiles, they can be 100% customised, Vimeo provides templates, or if your a dab hand at HTML you can create your own.

Image

But it comes at a huge price tag at $199 a year! I definitely do not have that kind of money! There is a cheaper alternative, Vimeo PLUS.

Image

However, this doesn’t give you the free reign that you get with PRO, which is a shame. I can’t afford $200 dollars that’s for sure, but maybe I could create a part on my own website that acts as a Vimeo style channel? Certainly worth a try!

Posted in: Research